As you can probably guess, this post might be a little girly. I was just thinking on how I am surrounded by mostly XX chromosome species most of the time. And I don’t know… it’s a different environment for me because I mean I have friends who are girls, but I grew up with my two brothers, and have always had my guy friends to balance out the estrogen of my girl friends. But here… it’s like there estrogen ALL over the place! It’s like I have 6 sisters! hahaha mom – how did you do it?  Yet another situation I find myself not really knowing how to handle myself… It is interesting because some of the girls come from a different cultural background as myself and I am treated differently in the sisterly aspect by each one of them. It’s very curious! Hazel is like the very outgoing blunt older sister who has many stories and experiences to share and she knows what she wants and plans accordingly but loves to joke around with her younger sisters… Sasha is like the older sister who loves being around people and who loves to experience a lot and push others to do branch out and the same but I still feel like I need to watch over her, Olga is the sweet smiley younger sister who is very family-oriented and has a fun sense of humor but is mature for her age. Raquel, Daniela, and Andrea are the sisters who I see every other day and they bring a whole new set of  crazies (good crazies) to the table. Hahaha so I was with Hazel, Sasha and Olga – we had all just made dinner together and were enjoying our meal and talking about having a Halloween party at our place and were talking about costumes when a Disney song came on my computer so Sasha says “Oh! We should each be a Disney Princess!” So we decided that Hazel should be Mulan, Sasha would be Belle, Olga would be Jasmine, and then they were trying to figure out one for me and they said “Well we need someone with blonde hair…” haha I said “What?! My hair is clearly brown!” and they said “No… it’s definitely a dirty blonde at best… you should be Cinderella!”  WTF am I colourblind? Well enough of that… but yeah it has been…nice? Yes… a huge dose of femininity =) 

At a sweet Irish pub, the band playing "Sweet Child of Mine"

At a sweet Irish pub, the band playing "Sweet Child of Mine"

 

Hot Tub Pic! From the left: Andrea, Olga, Moi, Sasha, Raquel, and Daniela

Hot Tub Pic! From the left: Andrea, Olga, Moi, Sasha, Raquel, and Daniela

 

With our Umbrellas Combined! XD

With our Umbrellas Combined! 😄

 Hazel has been taking most of the pictures which is why she is not in them as often – we should remedy that… but she does have a pretty sweet camera! (Not as awesome as Arien’s but still awesome) and they are all very lovely but I miss you guys a lot =)

You know, it was funny… we have very interesting conversations. Like how Olga, Raquel and Andrea have all said they miss the men in Mexico because they are true gentlemen. I was a little taken aback by this comment and inquired further – and told them how I don’t exactly have the best perception of Mexican men because of how I am treated whenever I get even remotely close to Manassas. They said that it is because the ones who can’t afford to stay in Mexico are like that, and they go to the U.S. to make their lives. However the men in Mexico are apparently “very polite, sweet and family-oriented and treat them like a real lady, and if they ask you out on a date, they will treat you exceptionally well, pay for everything, and return you at the end of the night.” Come to think of it, Isauro is actually pretty polite and won’t let us carry our own groceries, opens the doors for us, and is the only guy who tries to keep the house clean! Huh. Yeah, cause the other two, they may ask if you need help but they mostly do it sort of in a way “just to say I did ask” way… And to be fair, I know in the U.S. at least I believe that part of the reason that chivalry is dying is because more and more women are … um…. a bit on the feminist side… as in, I have seen many situations where a guy will open a door for a woman and she will say some remark like “What? Do you think I can’t get my own door”  0_0 !!! My jaw dropped the first time I heard that. Geez. No wonder chivalry is dying… it’s being stomped to the ground! I just hope that given the chance, men will act like true gentlemen, and ladies should let them. You are not any less equal if you let a man hold open a door for you or walk you to your car.  Hahaha I know that I hold open doors for guys, and some of them accept it and thank me, and others will try to stop me rush to open the door for me. I guess I’ll try to let them do their thing? I love old men – they treat you with such kindness but sometimes I feel like I should be the one opening the door for them, but then they insist and I feel like if I don’t let them, they will be saddened or insulted. So in ethics class we spent half the period (oh – all our classes are one day a week and 3 hours each with a 15 minute break in the middle) talking about how with each generation we are getting more and more demoralized… that was a fun topic…. sorry if you can’t detect my sarcasm – it was a sad discussion, especially when I can visably see the disrespect and loss of morals in a lot of situations. Of course I won’t exclude myself from this – there are many times in which I have been very selfish and all I can do is keep learning, and stop myself before I make the same mistakes.

Sidenote- CERAM smells like Christmas. haha because, it is surrounded by pine trees and we are up in the mountains. And it feels different from the Autumn feeling that I love so much in Virginia, but I can still feel it clearly in the atmosphere here too. I feel like my soul is fine-tuned to this season… like it understands it… and I can feel all the previous years course through me, the quiet intensity of it all comes back every time. How about that for thought? I will have pictures from old Antibes soon!

