Imagine about a mile of outdoor cafes and bistros set upon their own private beach just thirty feet from the water, their intoxicating smells drifting out to welcome you in on this particular balmy evening. The atmosphere is very hospitable, making you feel light and calm, taking your worries and woes from you and checking it at the door. You are engulfed in a sea of very well-dressed beings who frolick in their summer playground. I wonder how these people make plans for dinner- “Sure just let me park my yacht on the Mediterranean and I’ll take my speedboat to shore and we can have dinner on the private beach in the moonlight.” Yeah, no I am not kidding, there is an army of yachts on the Mediterranean and they are enormous (some of them have helicopter decks!) – they look like they are battleships ready to attack you where you stand!

The beach at Juan les Pins is beautiful – it is so clear and blue-green in colour, however tops are pretty much optional. Oh well, you get used to it eventually. So things I like in Juan les Pins: Ferrero Rocher and Creme Brulee gelato/ice cream mix that is presented/spooned into the shape of a flower (I’ll post a picture soon), the Italian father and son duo who sell me my pistachio and cafe soft serve ice cream for 1€, and the best display of fireworks I have ever seen over the Mediterranean. We were all sitting in our residence and suddenly we heard them – fireworks. And suddenly we were on our feet, running through the streets of Juan les Pins towards sounds not unlike titans crashing together in the night sky, illuminated by streaks of brilliant colour rising and cascading over the Mediterranean Sea. They were being blasted off from three different ships, and the show was amazing – it was set to music too, such as The Can Can song (we have a great video to post on facebook of it!) and 007 film soundtracks, Queen, and other traditional French songs. It was beautiful! Oh – and there are crêpe shoppes everywhere. Sasha and I shared one from a Grand Marnier shoppe, where the chef cooked one right on the street for us and let Sasha pour (more like drench) the poor thing with Grand Marnier (orange-flavored liqueur) but I have a pretty awesome picture with her barely being able to lift the gigantic bottle with a huge smile on her face (and the GM dude put his chef’s hat on her head for the photo, he was pretty fun).  You know what is really disturbing to me though? In most of the clothing shoppe windows there are dog purses. I don’t mean purses that look like dogs, I mean that they are purses literally meant for women to carry their little dogs around everywhere with them, right under their shoulder. So…. weird…  Oh! but there was a metallic living statue dude – he put on a brilliant performance, which by that I mean he stayed in one position for… forever. Oh you know what’s kind of funny? Johan called the day after I told him off and said that he decided to lower the price for all of us to 1800€, and I declined, and so he said that we should call him when we don’t find a place and come back to him. And then he said we should all go out for drinks cause he is lonely. And I am not a mean person, and I usually give people the benefit of the doubt and try to trust people first and then if they have wronged me, I pass judgement… so I don’t feel so bad for the fact that it was reeeally hard not to burst out laughing when he said that, I actually bit my lip holding it back. Glad Sasha didn’t hear, she would have laughed for sure. But I did say “well I’ll call you if we decide to, thanks for the offer.” People keep saying I am too nice for my own good… is this true? Hazel has also called me a “sorry” whore – I give it up (the word) too easily. Basically, I apologize way too much, which could definitely be true, I have noticed this. You know what is interesting? Is that people who are almost strangers to me can see a lot of my traits right away and have no problem informing me of them – which I don’t mind, I actually like it, this blunt honesty. I have gotten compliments as well, but I like hearing how they analyze me in every aspect.  So next post I will tell you about our new place! And hopefully post pictures! But guess what! We have a lime tree!!! You know what that means, right?? Mojitos forever, baby! Well… now all I gots ta do is go plant some mint. And you know, grow a Bacardi Limon rum tree. It’ll work – really. =)

 

Crème brûlée & Ferrero Rocher gelato flower

Crème brûlée & Ferrero Rocher gelato flower

 And of course this is Sasha… being Sasha. Hahaha. The guy was pretty cool too – he let her try on his Grand Marnier chef hat!

 

Sasha drenching our crêpe with Grand Marnier

Sasha drenching our crêpe with Grand Marnier

 

Now this is the life: You get to sit on a beach in a big comfy chair/couch and eat your dinner casually while watching the setting sun.

Couch Café in Juan les Pins

Couch Café in Juan les Pins

